Chipotle Spiced Butternut Squash Oven Fries

Today is November 5th right?  You’d never know it if you stepped outside my house right now.  It’s 80 degrees.  And not really the day to crank up my oven to 425 degrees.  Oops!  But I had a plethora of butternut squash on my counter that was just calling out to be made into fries.  I suppose today would be considered barbeque weather so it’s fitting that I made these fries that would taste great along side a veggie burger…right?

I love how these came out.  Right out of the oven, I stood in my kitchen and ate a decent sized handful in a matter of seconds.  I would even go out on a limb and say these rival sweet potato fries (but with the added bonus that these are 0 points+ on Weight Watchers.)  If you season these just right, you might not even believe they are completely fat-free!  If you are not into spice, I was thinking that a sweet version of this with some brown sugar and cinnamon would also be scrumptious.  Or even curry powder or cumin.  Or even just plain salt and pepper will do.

Chipotle Spiced Butternut Squash Oven Fries (makes 4 side-dish servings)

You’ll need:

  • 2 small butternut squash
  • course sea salt (I used Maldon’s smoked sea salt flakes.  yum.)
  • chipotle powder
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (optional)

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.  Start by peeling the squash, removing the seeds and cutting them into uniform fry-shaped pieces.  I used a crinkle cutter (got mine on Amazon) but you could also just use a knife.  Also, the thinner you cut your fries the faster they will brown up in the oven.  So keep that in mind.  I like mine pretty thin so I just kept an eye on them while they were in the oven.  Blot any moisture left on the squash with a kitchen towel or paper towel and transfer squash to a large bowl.  Sprinkle generously with sea salt and about 1/4 tsp. chipotle powder.  Toss them around so they are evenly coated.  Lay the fries out on a baking rack that’s sitting on a baking sheet.  Make sure they are in an even layer and not overlapping each other.  I think the baking rack allows heat to surround the fries so they bake more evenly?  Maybe I’m crazy.  Bake your fries for approx. 20 mins (depending on how thin or thick they are.)  Take them out and flip each fry over and put back in oven to bake for an additional 10 mins.  Fries should be brown in places and fully cooked through, but not burnt which could happen really easily if you don’t keep your eye on them.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with more salt to taste.  Enjoy these hot, straight from the oven with your favorite dipping sauce.  I personally enjoy barbeque sauce with a little sriracha mixed in.  And for an extra fancy flourish, sprinkle a little chopped fresh cilantro on top.

5 thoughts on “Chipotle Spiced Butternut Squash Oven Fries

Leave a Reply

