Vegan Fried Rice

I normally don’t just eat a big ol’ bowl of rice for dinner but today I came across a picture of fried rice on the Weight Watchers website that looked pretty scrumptious.  Yeah yeah Weight Watchers.  I’m giving it another go…don’t worry this is just my third or fourth time.  It’s less of a diet really and more about portion control which is my biggest problem anyway.  So you’re probably wondering what a big bowl of carbs has to do with losing weight.  Yeah I thought that too, but hey on WW it’s allowed so I went for it.  The fried rice recipe on WW has a 4 PointPlus value for 3/4 cup and mine has a 5 PointPlus value for a whole cup.  Not too much of a difference but mine has more veggies and tofu instead of eggs!  Not pictured is the copious amount of Sriracha that I finished my dish with.  I have to say I’m pretty pleased with this recipe!  My mom and Olivia also approve (if you don’t want to just take my word for it.)

Vegan Fried Rice (serves 6, 1 cup per serving)

You’ll need:

  • 1 block extra-firm tofu, blotted with paper towel to remove excess moisture
  • 1 1/2 tbsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup green onion, green and white parts, chopped
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup carrots, shredded
  • 3 packed cups napa cabbage, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas, no need to defrost
  • 2 cups cooked brown basmati rice
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • salt & pepper

Place block of tofu in a medium non-stick skillet, and while on med-high heat start to break up the tofu until it is crumbled into smallish pieces.  The goal is to give the tofu the appearance of scrambled eggs.  (I didn’t use any oil in this step at all and I think that helps dry out the tofu a little.)  Add turmeric (gives the tofu a familiar “egg” color) and season generously with salt and pepper.  When tofu starts to brown, turn off heat and set aside.  In a large non-stick skillet, add 1 tsp olive oil and sauté green onions and garlic on med-high heat until the garlic becomes fragrant but doesn’t brown.  Next, add the carrots and cabbage, season with a pinch of salt and sauté for a couple minutes or until cabbage softens and reduces in volume.  Add the peas and sauté just until everything is heated through and peas are defrosted.  Add the cooked brown rice, soy sauce and cilantro.  Stir everything together and cook until heated through.  Garnish with cilantro and green onion (optional.)

Leave a Reply

