Golden Beet Salad with Parsley Mint Vinaigrette

I can’t believe I used to hate beets.  For the vast majority of my life, I really only saw beets at the occasional salad bar and made an assumption early on that all beets came from a can.  Don’t get me wrong, I still hate canned beets.  To me, they are more like jell-o with their gelatinous form and insanely sweet taste.  Yuck.  Fresh beets are a whole different story and it wasn’t until pretty recently that I discovered my true love for them.

I get a bi-weekly box of fruits and vegetables from a local delivery service called SLO Veg.  Every two weeks, a diverse selection of locally grown and incredibly fresh produce shows up at my doorstep.  It’s pretty amazing.  In fact, I highly recommend you check SLO Veg out if you live on the Central Coast or seek out a local delivery service near you if you are interested in trying this sorta thing out.  This week, I got two bunches of beautiful golden beets.  I will admit, I had never cooked beets before, only eaten them.  So I scoured the internet for the easiest cooking method which consists of wrapping beets in foil, baking for 45 mins to 1 hour at 375 degrees and peeling them once they’re cool enough to handle.  Not hard at all.

It’s been pretty warm here the last couple days so a beet salad sounded so good to me.

Golden Beet Salad with Parsley Mint Vinaigrette

Makes approx. 4 appetizer servings

Slice up 4 medium sized cooked beets and arrange on your serving platter.  Drizzle parsley mint vinaigrette (recipe below) across the beets and then top with a sprinkling of toasted chopped walnuts and crumbled gorgonzola cheese.  Garnish with a few leftover mint leaves (optional.)

*You could easily make many variations of this if you wanted to switch up the nuts or cheese i.e. use almonds or pistachios instead of walnuts or goat cheese instead of the gorgonzola (or leave out the cheese altogether to make this vegan.)

Parsley Mint Vinaigrette

(I apologize for the lack of precise measurements but I really do just eyeball it when I make dressings.)

In a food processor, blender or Magic Bullet (my personal choice for dressings,) add in one large handful of parsley, about 1/2 a handful of mint leaves, 1 clove garlic, 3 chopped green onions, a couple glugs of both olive oil and rice vinegar, juice from 1/2 a lemon and salt and pepper.  Process until everything is combined.  You should end up with a nice vibrant green dressing.

My Magic Bullet before...

My Magic Bullet after!

Penelope tried to run off with the beets! She is so sneaky.

3 thoughts on “Golden Beet Salad with Parsley Mint Vinaigrette

  1. That salad looks really good! I am a beet fan and I love sauteing them in orange juice. The combo of flavors is great.

  2. Pingback: June Gathering with Farmbag of the Lowcountry « Eating Without Meat

Leave a Reply

