Spinach Chimichurri

Image

The other day, I finally put my food processor to good use making pesto and it got me thinking about herbs.  More like what other kinds of delicious green sauces can I make with herbs?  Chimichurri instantly came to mind.  Chimichurri is an Argentinian sauce typically made with parsley, garlic, vinegar, olive oil and oregano.  It’s also mostly used on grilled meat, however vegetarian fajitas were on our dinner menu last night.  I thought I’d put a different spin on my chimichurri with an added secret ingredient that really boosts the nutritional value with no compromise on taste – baby spinach!

Even my spinach loathing husband liked this sauce.  It’s zesty, tangy and so so delicious.  I bet it would taste great drizzled on some enchiladas, tacos, grilled corn, or even on a salad!

Spinach Chimichurri

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

In a food processor, combine 1 handful (about 1 cup) baby spinach, 1 handful cilantro, 1/2 cup parsley, juice from about 6 limes (roughly 1/4 cup,) 4 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. sea salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper. While food processor is on, stream in about 1/2 cup of olive oil until you get the consistency you like.

We drizzled (or poured in my case) the sauce on fajitas made with sautéed bell peppers, onions and Trader Joe’s Chickenless Strips (which are actually vegan.)  YUM.

Image

4 thoughts on “Spinach Chimichurri

Leave a Reply

