Green Rice

Kale.  I love it.  If I somehow got my kids to love it, I would be the happiest mom in the world.  So, I made a batch of Green Rice last night (inspired by Gwyneth Paltrow’s Fried Rice with Kale and Scallions.)  I wouldn’t exactly call it fried rice since I did change up her recipe a bit.  I used all the same ingredients, but just tweaked the method a little.  Her recipe calls for steaming the kale, but I just sautéed mine with the scallions and garlic in some olive oil.  Since the kale is cut up so thinly it cooks down pretty quickly this way.

I set down a bowl of this rice in front of our five year old Olivia, called it “Green Rice” (like Gwyneth’s kids do) and she ate it no questions asked.  She saw the cookbook My Father’s Daughter open on the counter and I guess she immediately approved…as long as soy sauce was involved.  The kid loves her soy sauce.  Penelope, our 16 month old, also loved it.  My husband?  Not so much.  He doesn’t share my loving feelings towards kale.  Not yet at least.

Green Rice  (makes 4 side-dish servings)

First, get a batch of brown rice started on the stove.  I use Trader Joe’s brown basmati rice (takes about 35 to 40 minutes.)  Meanwhile, cut up about 1/2 pound of kale into very thin ribbons (chiffonade) but make sure the ribbons aren’t too too long so it’s easier to eat.  Next, cut up 3 or 4 large scallions (aka green onions) into very thin slices.  In a large sauté pan, heat up 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat.  Into the pan, grate in about 3 cloves of garlic using a microplane (or a garlic press, or even just finely minced garlic.)  Then add in the scallions, be careful not to burn the garlic.  Add in all of the kale.  Season with salt and pepper.  I added in a little water to get the kale going.  Let the whole mixture cook until the kale is tender, but not mushy.  When the rice is finished, add all of it to the kale mixture.  Add in 1 to 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and a sprinkle of rice vinegar (optional and not in Gwyneth’s recipe) to brighten everything up a bit.  Garnish with cilantro if you feel like getting fancy.

3 thoughts on “Green Rice

      • We got Jack Lallanes juicer. I probably just spelled his name wrong. Anyways, we got it at Costco for around $90 or so. We LOVE it! I don’t think that kale has much juice though, ours doesn’t get out a ton either. Have you guys seen Fat Sick and Nearly Dead? It’s a life changing documentary on juicing.

Leave a Reply

