Avocado Pesto

20120317-202005.jpg

I have been wanting to make Chef Chloe’s Avocado Pesto ever since we moved into this house with an almost unending supply of avocados (due to the avocado tree in our backyard.) Weeks will go by without any avocados and then bam!!! – right now I have three huge bowls of avocados in my kitchen. Good thing my girls and I all love them or it would really be a sad waste of such a glorious and decadent (not to mention expensive) fruit!

For those of you who are not familiar with Chef Chloe, well she is just a super cute vegan chef who just happened to win Cupcake Wars on Food Network vs. a non-vegan competitor. I am not vegan (ate that way while breastfeeding for a while though) but I appreciate the creativity and thoughtfulness of vegan cooking. This pesto recipe is very close to traditional pesto but instead of cheese you use avocado so the sauce is still thick and creamy and delicious!

I swapped out the pine nuts for walnuts because I had a bad case of Pine Nut Mouth a few months ago. It is a real thing – google it! Also, I cut down on the olive oil by using some veggie broth to thin it out.

Today just happens to be St. Patrick’s Day and making this meal might become a St. Patty’s tradition.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

5 thoughts on “Avocado Pesto

Leave a Reply

