Chickpea Pasta with Almonds

20120208-191215.jpg

20120208-191235.jpg

Every Wednesday we have a Family Dinner Night at our house. My mom, dad, sister and sometimes even my brother will come over. It usually consists of me trying out new recipes on my family and even gives me a chance to sneak in a vegetarian meal every once in a while.

One of the many food apps I have on my iPhone is Real Simple’s No Time To Cook app. You can pick your protein (or choose vegetarian) and pick how long you have to cook (20, 30 or 40 mins) and it will give you tons of cool and really easy recipe ideas.

Tonight I made Chickpea Pasta with Almonds. It took maybe 15 minutes and it was the first time I’ve ever cooked pasta in veggie broth. My girls both liked it and my mom even said we need to make it again! It’s a definite keeper. I did make a few minor changes: I doubled the garlic, left out the pepper flake (not my choice but I got kids to feed,) and used the “plus” angel hair pasta that has added protein and fiber.

To accompany the pasta I made a salad with half arugula half baby spinach, sliced beets (I found them already peeled and steamed in the produce section,) crumbled goat cheese and a handful of sliced green onion.

If you are interested in knowing my favorite salad dressing recipe, it’s your lucky day!

My Favorite Salad Dressing Recipe

1/3 balsamic vinegar
2/3 olive oil
1 TBSP Dijon mustard
1 splash soy sauce
juice of lemon (if I have one)
pepper to taste (no salt if you use soy sauce)

Shake it up in a jar! Easy and good every time.

One thought on “Chickpea Pasta with Almonds

Leave a Reply

