Eating Green in Napa

On Saturday, I turned 30. And as much as one would normally dread this birthday, I was looking forward to mine for weeks. My sister and I spent the weekend in Napa, CA. It was our very first time. We knew it would be as much about the food as it would be about the wine. And it did not disappoint. In fact I was sad to leave and can’t wait to go back!

First stop was Mustards Grill. Delicious. We tried some grilled sweet potatoes topped with avocado aioli. I had the mushroom spinach “burger” which I will say was probably the best veggie burger I have ever had. Hands down.

20120206-151340.jpg

20120206-151415.jpg

On my actual birthday we went to Chef Michael Chiarello’s Bottega. It was a culinary dream come true to say the least. What an amazing restaurant. Everything was perfect from the service to the ambiance to the food. Simply spectacular. I had his raviolo which is a giant ravioli stuffed with chard and an egg yolk. Topped with shaved black truffles and a brown butter sage sauce. Wow. And to top the night off I actually met the Chef! He was so very kind and even kissed both of my cheeks! I can’t think of a better way to turn 30.

20120206-151826.jpg

20120206-151843.jpg

20120206-151904.jpg

One thought on “Eating Green in Napa

  1. WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!! He really was the sweetest! Also, I can’t believe I forgot my leftovers in your fridge!!!! Do you think it’s still good? Make Dennis eat it so it doesn’t go to waste!

Leave a Reply

