Open Faced Egg Sandwich with Spinach Pesto and Pea Shoots

20120126-105855.jpg

I am a bit obsessed with breakfast for many reasons. First being it’s Penelope’s nap time and another being eggs. I love eggs.

This open faced sandwich consists of:

1/2 whole wheat English muffin toasted
1 egg (I “fry” mine using olive oil spray in a little tiny pan which is why it looks round like that)
handful of pea shoots (got mine at Trader Joe’s)
sliced tomato
spinach pesto

Spinach Pesto

1 cup spinach
1 cup basil
1/2 cup toasted almonds
veggie broth
olive oil
salt and pepper

I blend all of the above ingredients in my Magic Bullet (I’ll admit I have one and use it a lot!) Use equal parts broth and oil until you get the consistency you like. This pesto is pretty darn tasty (and vegan!)

One thought on “Open Faced Egg Sandwich with Spinach Pesto and Pea Shoots

Leave a Reply

